Ibasaka's Bay Area 72' 510 Wagon

Hello, I am the new owner of a 1972 510 Wagon; Poppy as the previous owner liked to call it.

This is the first car I purchased with my own money and I plan on learning everything I can with it.  I'm a junior in high school right now, and I plan on getting it road worthy and reliable before I graduate.

Currently, I work as a bicycle mechanic, but flip bikes on the side which will fund this project.  

Picked it up for $600 a block behind my house owned by an older woman. 

I look forward to learning as much as I can from you guys, the internet, and all the manuals I can find since I do not have a father with me to teach me these things. 

I really appreciate any input and look forward to this project!

Well, here she is.

8638474029_b7373430ea_c.jpg

Rockers have, from what I see, only superficial rust.

8639609104_44c9d3ff1f_z.jpg

Floorboards and under floorboards. 

8639576854_748c8272f8_z.jpg

8639576720_b5d9bb86e4_z.jpg

Inside rear quarter panel, behind rear wheel well.

8639576690_44638ff758_z.jpg

Roof

8639576676_55583d373c_z.jpg

Interior is ok.

8639576634_74f71c6480_z.jpg

8638473651_6f8552b25e_z.jpg

8638473863_088cedbc49_z.jpg

Door cards are in ok condition, the trim is rusted though. 

Unfortunately, its an automatic. Well I don't know if there's any benefit to that. I've heard from some that the transmission tunnel is larger than that of a manual. (Would someone confirm?)

Right now my first priority is getting all the old fluids out. It hasn't been run in about 7 years. The previous owner last turned the motor over 4 years ago. She told me that coolant was getting mixed with fuel, but her mechanic/s said it wasn't a head issue, but it was simply the plate below the carb. By that time she was getting older and decided to put the car aside and drive a newer one. 

The L16 in it isn't the original one. It has around 30k on it which I was quite happy to learn about.

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply