New to Ratsun

bye_pablo

Hey y’all I’m brand new to the car world and after long thought decided I want to own a Datsun 510. My dad has a Datsun 210 in his late twenties and it was stolen when my uncle left it running in the driveway while he was talking to a family member on the porch. Thief was never caught and car was never found.

I plan on saving up about $5k and selling my 2018 Harley Davidson Iron 883 once I have the cash. Giving me about $10k to $11k to get the Datsun. 

Are there any resources I should read up on to ready my knowledge on buying a project or decent condition car when I’m ready? 

• Like 4
  • Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi welcome.. your best bet is to just read peoples project threads on here, search any question you have in google followed by the word “ratsun” and chances are someone has asked whatever question you have multiple times and you’ll find your answer. People are very helpful on here if you can’t search for the answer to your question someone knows the answer. 

• Like 3

sick620 is right. Research is the best investment you can make in your project. Like any used car, there's more value in a rust free example than one with lots of sparkles on it.  There're incredibly knowledgeable people on here, but there's a ton of garbage info on here too, so use discretion and considering the source. Go looking to justify a bad choice and you'll always find some fool who knows absolutely nothing telling you what you want to hear. For the fundamentals, there are archives of a publication called Dime Quarterly. Add that to your search because it's packed with very accurate and detailed information. 

Good luck and happy hunting.

Edited by paradime
7 hours ago, Stoffregen Motorsports said:

The one piece of advice I will give to any person looking for a classic - buy one with a good body, or at least without any rust.

Finding that in a 510 may be difficult these days.