Montana Datsun Revival

This is my first project car and I am proud to say it is a 1970 Datsun 521. This truck was abandoned in Montana and hasn't been driven since 1989. I am going to be learning so much on this journey and I hope you guys would like to join in and see my progress as I continue. Luckily my roommate is amazing with Datsun's and he is going to help me and teach me everything I need to know. So far we washed the exterior, took off the side mirrors, took off a beat up old camper top, cleaned trash out of the cab, and degreased the engine a bit. I was able to find Nissan Titan 18" wheels and we are going to put new tires on them this week. With just a little bit of soap and water and a large trash can my truck already looks so much better can't wait to keep working on it!

Pictures Below!

• Like 2
  • Replies 153
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Hello DatsunGirl and welcome to Ratsun. We have a very large community of 520/521 owners here.

The 521 came with 6:00 x 14" rims and tires or 175/70R14 in today's tires. This would have a diameter of 23.65" tall and be just under 7" wide. If replacing the rims you want to find a tire the same or close to the same diameter and width anything you like. Running a taller tire will upset the effective gearing and make the truck sluggish to drive not to mention a speedometer that reads slow. Which is annoying.

For a 23.63" tall tire in 18" rim size try...

180/40R18 @ 23.68" tall and 7" wide

190/35R18 @ 23.4" tall and 7.5" wide

205/35R18 @ 23.65" tall and 8" wide

You may be able to go wider is the rim offset allows it. Check with the 521 guys.

Last of all you don't want the tire outside the fender. The body will come down on it on bumps and worst of all you can't lower the truck.