Lug nut studs/brake drums

Rusty Dawg

Howdy,

I recently picked up a 1961 PLG 222 1200 pick up truck and I wanted to replace some broken wheels studs.  Since I will have the drums off, I might as well inspect the brakes to see if they need to be gone though which I am sure they will be.  Can anyone help in telling me how to go about removing the drums on this vehicle and if I will need to replace seals when I go to re-install them or is the drum independent of any other component(s)?  The brakes actually work, but I need to take the drums off in order to replace some broken studs.  Any insight would be greatly appreciated, since I am a Ford/Mopar guy and I am just starting to learn about these very cool trucks.

Warm regards,

Roman

• Like 2
  • Replies 124
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Thanks for sharing the video, looks like I have my work cut out for me since I need to do all four....one to three studs broken per wheel.  I was wondering if heat would help things, so thanks for the suggestion.

I always take pictures before disassembly.  I also only take apart one side of the vehicle at a time, so that I still have the other side to look at shall I forget how to put it back together.

Thanks for the responses.

• Like 2

There's not much of anything out there for these trucks including parts, so I appreciate any insight into what other vehicles might be similar to mine.  Thank goodness my truck was 95% complete.

Thanks again and I will search out the manual for a 320-521.

• Like 1

I'm pretty sure Steve Epperly of ZTherapy in Salem still has a couple of these.  He may have some resource material for them.

All things considered, this price doesn't seem all that bad.  

http://www.faxonautoliterature.com/1959-1960-Datsun-1200-Owners-Manual-Original-P211-PG222-U-P29217.aspx

https://forums.nicoclub.com/1960-datsun-plg-222-restoration-t602083.html

• Like 1