The Japanese Trans Am...

So I am a bit older than most of you, I think (not as old as Mike, though), as I graduated high school in 1991. Now the 3 coolest cars in my high school parking lot were (in no particular order) the mid-80s Trans Am or IROC-Z Camaro, the AE86 Toyota Corolla GT-S (so much stickers!!), and the Mitsubishi Starion/Chrysler Conquest. I fell in love with all three of these and always wanted to own all three some day.

It took me until 15 years after high school, but I did get an AE86. It was a load of fun and I do miss it still.

I have often low key looked for a decent IROC-Z but that search has thus far proved fruitless. 

And we come to the last of the trio. Which I acquired today.  😁

large.IMG_20181204_165013_005small.jpg.7

Paint is pretty beat but it runs great. Engine was recently rebuilt, as was the turbo. It pulls surprisingly strong, especially on the freeway...

Now just waiting on the UPS man to bring me about 20 boxes, then the real fun begins...  😁

• Like 9
  • Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

And to explain the thread title, one of my best friends from high school with similar car tastes had a red '87 Chrysler Conquest. He loved it, and it was a riot to drive, but it was in the shop all the time. Mostly because he beat it like it owed him money. Once asked why he liked it so much, he said "it's basically a Japanese Trans Am"...  😄

Oh, and future plans are a bit out there. While I like this engine, the car really needs a V8. 😎

Anyone want to make a strong case for either a 1UZ-FE or a 5.2 LS?  

• Like 2

I vote VH45DE or VK45 or 56DE... This is a Nissan/Datsun site after all. 😁 BTW I also am old (class of 86) and love Datsuns, AE86s and Starions. Have Datsuns and Toyotas, but no Mitsubishi yet. Although my brother had a Sapporo. I loved that car.

• Like 2
11 hours ago, datsunfreak said: