Woohoo! New Engine!

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Talked the guy down from $200 to $100. It's supposedly a race engine. It's going to go into my 510. If the header and oil pan somehow manage to fit, they are staying on, but chances are they will be up for grabs.

How hard would it be to swap the head? I have an A87 on my blown engine and this one has a Wsomethingorother. I've never done any real work on an engine before and I have no money so as it stands right now it's just a thought.

I'm gonna clean it up and drop it in. Can't wait to drive the 510 again.

'75-'78 L20B. After market fuel pump. Three of the fan blades are broken (or cut off) better fix that. The truck header and oil pan may not fit the car.

Just noticed that looks like a '77 or older carb. Also that long valve cover pipe may have been used with a catch can if 'raced'.

How hard would it be to swap the head? I have an A87 on my blown engine and this one has a Wsomethingorother. I've never done any real work on an engine before and I have no money so as it stands right now it's just a thought.

May not want to bother. If it's a W53, then it has the same ports and valves as the A87. However, if it's the W58, then it's the round port smog head.

AFAIK, should be just remove & replace. Clean all mating surfaces and make sure those bolts are good. On second thought, you may want to spring for new ARP head bolts to get nice, fresh accurate torque. Who knows how stretched the old bolts are... :eek:

Of course, I defer to those who've actually done this drill. :D