NL 320 Engine Choices

kentodd

I am new to Datsuns and was lucky enough to get my hands on a NL320. It has no engine or trans.

I searched through the previous threads with no real luck and

After asking around and looking through countless threads, there are still a few questions I have before chosing an engine. I have read that the l20b is too tall. What about a L16? Is there any size , dimensions, difference between an L16 and a L18?

If those won't work, should I put in a J15, or just go with a modern drive train? 

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

The L20B is 2cm or 3/4" taller than the L16/18

The L16/18 engines are identical on the outside.

The original 320 had an E series engine which is very similar to the later J and A series engines for size, so you have choices. J13, though a larger J15 from south of the border (or a lift truck?) would be the same size. A14 or A15 from a B-210/210. The 210 also had nice 60 series 5 speeds if you can find one.

I don't think the L16 is a simple or easy fit, do able though, so a later engine will be even worse.

I would go with an A14 they are relatively cheap and easy find in good shape used , and parts for A14 engines are easy to get compared to non existent J motor parts.. it is about same size as E or J,,  BUT,,  more “modern” so less likely to leak like a British motor because of their olden times rope crank seals,, which are almost impossible to find .  (Most J motor front Front crank seals are Felt)  
( A motors are rubber sealed much easier to get right) 

I don’t know anything about installing but they fit pretty well . 

Capital letters are stupid on phone  

Edited by bananahamuck
  • Like 1