Ed’s 510 build

Teddyeddy

So me and my dad recently bought a 70’ 510 and I’m gonna be honest i don’t know that much about cars, I’m not completely clueless either like I’ve done some research online and stuff but it’s not like real experience so I’m new to this basically. Anyway the car needs a lot of work. Like it has a good amount of rust, the engine doesn’t  run, the trans is leaking and the suspension doesn’t look good either. Anyway I’m just here to ask you guys for help with where to find parts and what parts to use and i wanted to make a separate forum for all my questions and stuff. Thanks in advanced. Btw I’m 21 in college with barely any money to sustain myself so the cheaper the better guys

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Im going to try to restore it as much as possible so the more original parts the better but we will use some performance parts in it as well so it’s a little more fun to drive. Nothing to crazy though like I’m not putting a turbo in it anytime soon but i would like to have dual carbs and depending if we have to rebuild this engine or not we might just go for an l20 instead. But the car does not run at the moment.

There's nothing fun about a stock 510. They need to be lowered even if just a bit. They need camber adjustment front and rear, stiffer front sway bar and springs and some front caster adjustment too. These parts are all bolt on and won't hurt the inherent value of the car. Actually, they'd improve the value. 280ZX struts and front brakes bolt on, and combined with a 280ZX master cylinder and finned aluminum 240Z drums in back make the car stop nicely and are "period correct".  I think you can even get re-pop finned drums now, and they're not that expensive.