A noobish beginning

I just acquired a 69 510 with no motor or trans. So its my blank canvas so im going with the ka24det swap because there is a fair bit of documentation on it. Now keep in mind im new to the 510 but instantly fell for her true love at first sight haha. I need to make the car drive able as soon as i can with the best quality work and least amount of cash so i can use it to drive to work so i can put some real high dollar parts into her. The car needs a bit of love but a solid foundation for a good build in my eyes. To see some picks click >  http://imgur.com/a/nihEO#0  < let me know what you think of it at this point!

So if you have any tips to give me before i really get into the build im all ears!!!

Im a bit nervous about this project!  :sick:  be being a noob and all feel free to poke me with a stick if im being stupid  :poke:

• Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

why is the firewall hacked to shit? but overall looks like a good starting point do you already have the ka? what turbo and mani do you plan to run? do you know how to do wiring work? you have a long road ahead of you 

Haha fire wall is so far back because the previous owner was doing a V8 swap. He had a V8 in it fit ok and all but i am looking for some more stability. I do not have a motor yet but i have been looking for one like crazy but there is many other things i can work on before the motor is found. All the front steering needs to be redone bushings are all bad and the drag bar is bent from when it was moved. I can doing the wiring no problem with a wiring diagram for the ka i believe i have one but if not im sure i can find one online. Motor will get a complete rebuild but probably remain stock till i get the money to spend. Yeah i know the road is long and not only long but its bumpy.