Lowering blocks / Rear leaf spring improvements?

JohnnyDiesel

Hi Guys/Gals,

I have a lowered 73' Datsun 1200 truck with a nice and low rear-end.  The leaf springs are lowered on some lowering blocks / 7" U-Bolts with rear struts replaced. MY question for all of you is do people make custom leaf springs that will lower my car and improve the pogo-stick like driving the lowering blocks have?

I like my car the way it sits, but I'm looking for something a little more comfortable to drive, any tips / tricks / website links you can provide me to help educate me would be very appreciated!

IMG-0014.jpg

IMG-0014.jpg

thanks,

Johnny

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

IM not a suspension expert but lowering block just move the axle up otherwise everything else it the same. So Im not getting what you really want. If one want softer some people revove the leaf but you can get axle wrap under hard acceleration or stopping where the axle willstarting rolling..

Get springs that are stiffer with out the block but will be same hard ride.

be honest its a 73 dinky car not a caddilac

try some different shocks????

• Like 1

Yup, pogo-sticking is due to too soft of dampening on the shocks.

Another thing you are dealing with is the 46 year old leaf springs, that are rusted on the surfaces where they slide against each other when they compress.

Take them apart, sand them lengthways to remove as much of the scale as you can, then go to Speedway motors, and buy a roll of Leaf Spring Liner.

It is a plastic strip that comes in a roll, with a lip on each side to keep it between the leafs of the spring, and stops the high friction that makes the springs ride rougher than they should.

I don't remember what width I bought for mine (the stuff comes in 3 different sizes).

Buy a tube of the thickest damn grease you can find, and lube the springs when you assemble them.

91033038_L_1cdc9d23-d376-4bae-b38d-91ea8

• Like 2