Part Out or Sell 1970 521

BillC

All,

I'm a relative newbie to the forum and I could use some advice. I found a 70 521 cuz I needed parts (windsheild, trim etc ) for my 71. It's a garage find of sorts and it's in decent shape for its age. On the good news side it is a CA truck with current non OP and the engine (L20 with a 5spd) starts and runs. So the question is, should I part it out cuz it has a lot of good parts on it or should I try to find a good home for it? Your feedback would greatly be appreciated.00404_81ai70ZiKy3_1200x900.jpg00u0u_bSUIY4c05Rm_1200x900.jpg

Bill

P.s. I floated a price if 1200.00 on craigslist with a parts explanation and got a few nibbles. I'm kind of leaning of leaving in tact but the parts or so hard to come by.

• Like 2
  • Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Realistically I think you'd be lucky to get $400 for it, and believe me I love these trucks and would like to save them all.  You can probably get near that for the motor & trans if they are in good shape, but the rest just doesn't look like it's worth much when every panel is damaged like that.  Common 521 parts are like coins...gotta be mint state to pull the good money

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

Thanks to all that responded. Really great advice. I think I'll keep it for what I need parts wise and offer up for sale the parts that I dont. Say, question for you. Is there any real difference between a 1971 and a 1970 521. They appear to be identical to me.

• Like 2

The interior 1970 door locks likely work by pushing the interior door handle forward, while the 1971 would have the door lock pull thingy(pull up/push down) above the exterior door handle, but on the inside of the door glass, but this is not the rule, it's a guide.

Edited by wayno
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 2