step 1: remove engine

I'm hopefully going to start an engine rebuild in the next week or so with my dad. I've never done this before and we don't have the right equipment. Before I can even order parts or anything we have to get the engine out of the truck, but we don't have an engine hoist.

Assuming we can find a good place in the garage to tie a rope/chain to, what's a good (easy?) way of facilitating it out of the truck (i.e. getting the right tilt, lift, etc.) We'll have to buy something, cause we don't even have any pulleys. I know most of you are as cheap as I am out there, and a hell of a lot more ingenious, so let's hear how it's been done!

Since we're probably going to be doing a total overhaul, getting one of those nifty rotatable engine stands seems fairly necessary. Are they worth it? Does harbor freight carry them or should I just get one at SEARS? And how heavy is an L20b?

btw, anyone in LB Cali have a hoist we can borrow? :D

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Man if i was closer to Olympia I would bring up my hoist and help ya. I pulled my engine out of my 85 720 and replaced it due to some cracks in the block and it took a day to pull. Those engine stands are very nifty and are good for putting on parts on the lower end of an engine. The best way I have found to get an engine out is a hoist and someone who knew what they were doing. Like I said, if I was closer to Olympia, I would.

Thanks man, but the truck is actually in Long Beach, Cali and I'm going to be flying down there to work on it (can't even bring my own tools:().

I forgot to mention it's coming out of a 620 too.

You can rent an engine hoist from any rental yard for like 20-30 bucks. I would rent one of them. It will make the job way easier and you won't have to put a new roof on your pops garage. :lol: