dat attack

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

bush-scratching-head.jpg

hi,

My name is ____________ & i own a 1973 1200 coupe/sunny.  Im a noob & looking forward to being a Ratsun member (hence my 1st post).

What are you guys using for mufflers?Want mine louder but not like a farm truck

That being said....some are using Borla or Magnaflow. A few have fabbed up their own muffler.

There's a few thread here covering muffler questions & suggestions.

in regards to 'performance,' from everything ive read "turbo" mufflers are the best.

the shop i had to my exhaust was so cool that they welded up the system all the way to before the muffler,

then held up different mufflers as i revved the motor to see which muffler i liked.

If you can weld, steelwooldirect.com has the special high temp stainless steel wool made for packing mufflers. You can't use regular steel wool, because the oil used in the manufacturing burns. , That's what I used in mine, I want to get this done so I can hear it

Magnaflow's sound great. This is a '74 620 with an L18, Weber, and shorty header on a magnaflow 

My 620 on the dyno. L20B, header, Weber on a Flowmaster Super 10. Everyone seems to like it, but I think it's just too raw. It would sound better with a resonator.

Not a 1200, but it gives you an idea of kind-of what to expect between exhausts. 

Here's my A15 powered 210. It was fun little sucker. Weber, freshly rebuilt top end, 2'' exhaust on a turbo muffler. Not very loud at all. 

http://youtu.be/BoUZDTeVWsM (You'll have to click the link, Ratsun only allows embedding 2) 

most any of the cheap mufflers seem to sound ok, i have a header going thru  2.25" exhaust going thru a big dog muffler, i did not want a tinning sound, and it turned out pretty good, i would stay away from cherry bombs or glass packs, too high pitched and attract the wrong kinda of attention.