Building an Engine for Mileage Input

dqami

Hi guys,

newbie here. I'm looking to buy a pre '75 pickup so I don't have to worry about smog here in Cali. I was wondering what would be a good setup for building an engine for high gas mileage (30 mpg+) and performance for little $. I will assume a 5 speed tranny would be a minimum.

I've really been enjoying reading this forum. I've had a 620 KC, 720 KC, a 521, and a 510 in the past and look to come full circle now.

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

mileage and performance don't mix. You have to focus on one.

My suggestion is an engine swap. Small displacement, and efficent factory fuel injection. Its hard to find that in RWD form though. I had thought if I did the same I would find a CA16DE from a 1986 Pulsar. Those engines can be mounted to the RWD transmission from a 200SX (CA20e).

You can drive it and track your milage. Then swap to a 4.11 diff and see if that improves your overall economy.

Your acceleration will likely still beat out a stock L20b.

I should be more specific since 'performance' is a relative thing. I want enough power to get up steep hills or pull a load w/o the engine straining. Not looking for drag performance.

I was reading where someone put a 210 head on an L block for mileage but couldn't get any more info when i did a search. If anyone knows more about this swap, I'd like to hear about it.

Here's what I have:

In my '76 Rustbucket I have an L18 with a U67 (L20B) head, Weber 32/36 carb jetted for a 1.4L B210, tall carb adaptor, and a '82 280ZX 5-speed. I have the front end dropped onto the bump stops to reduce drag (tail end is unchanged so I can still carry a load of engines and whatnot in the back). I get 30-35MPG, 32MPG is my normal, commuting average, and that's carrying a couple hundred lbs of extraneous crap in the bed (I really should clean it out, I have 2 flywheels, 2 spare tires, and a wagon hatch back there).