Help on L16 motor build?!

Wolfman

I recently bought 3 1972 datsun 510 4 doors, two are runners and the other is a complete parts car. All the motors are L16's, I am new to these motors and would like to know the best way to build this motor. I dont want to swap for an L20 or anything,just interested in the L16, any info, advice, or experience would be much appreciated!!!!!

-Thank you.

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

if it were mine I would do an L20b but its not so

flat top pistons ones from an L24 240 z motor will work

A87 head port and polish

duel webers or mikunies

more simple a single downdraft weber 32/36

stock manifold is good or header if you like but not needed

you can get a bolt in higher pressure oil pump forget what motor its from or beef the pressur spring up in the stock one

mild cam grind or more if you desire

What do you mean by best way to build?

Trying to get more horsepower? Faster launch? Higher top speed?

120 hp is realistic without getting into cams, pistons, etc. Forced induction can get you pretty high up there.

This seems to do the job for most-

Dual sidedrafts

Electronic ignition

Quality cap, wires, plugs.

Proper fluids and fluid levels.

Ram air

Drive it like an expensive whore tha you only have 15 minutes with.

Don't expect an absurd amount of power. Some people get a datto and are all like "Dis shiz too slow I wanna go faster. I can't keep up with my friends"

Keep in mind that it is a 40 year old car that in it's prime was a slick, quick, sexy machine. It is a dinosaur compared to your average 90's sedan. Now don't get me wrong, they scoot pretty good. A skilled driver in a 510 sedan can smoke a dumb kid in a 250hp civic. Ther'e no processor running the engine. No electronic sensors deciding what to do and when. Just a person in the driver seat.