gettin crap MPG

Newkid

well since ive got it the gas mileage has been in the toilet, when i first got the 620 i did:

spark plugs

spark plug wires

cap and rotor

air filter

fuel filter

oil change

made sure all the tires are properly inflated( might have to check again to make sure they are still at correct psi)

idk what it could be idk the rpms im running on the freeway since i dont have a rpm gauge in there yet, i intend to get one soon, but it seems like im at the gas station a lil too often.. i know there are other things i can check to see what else can cause bad gas mileage but i dont have a clue, im still learning about CARB vehicles, i was so used to EFI cars

so what do u guys think it could possibly be??

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

If this is around town, short trips to work and home, to the store and back with the motor cold with the choke on much of the time.... I can see that.

Check that your choke shuts off in about 7 minutes or so. By off I mean completely open.

Sounds about right. Too much Choke would definitely hurt mileage.

But consider it's a truck with low gearing, a relatively large engine, and higher therefore less aerodyamic. It's not going to get what a 510 gets even with the same engine.

My EFI minitruck Mazda gets 16 in town and 24 on the highway.

Weight is a big factor as well. Every pound takes gas energy to accelerate up to speed.