Rear main on L20B

metalmonkey47

How simple is it to replace a rear main on an L20B while in the truck? My clutch the last few days has gotten rather...... slippery. I suspect I may have some fluids leaking.

I know I need to replace the clutch, so I'm not too concerned, but I don't want to ruin a good new clutch. Rear main is cheap, but I've NEVER done one before. Tips?

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Check front trans and rear trans seals too ,,, Rear main is not bad ,,, torque properly !!! ,,, I use an electric impact gun to zip off flywheel bolts ( around 90-105+ish ft lbs I think ? ) ,,, then a piece of angle iron drilled ,,, bolted in and locked motor ,,, to keep still ,,, while torquing flywheel again :lol:

be VERY careful on the crank sealing surface ,,, use a sealpuller ,,, or ,,, if neccessary ,,, you can take two small machine screws and tap straight into seal ,,, then pull out with pliers ,,, be very very careful with this method :D

check your u-joints ,,, replace while out as needed ,,, clean out the inside of the bellhousing/etc ,,,

check condition of throwout bearing ,,, pack it ,,, or replace if need be ! ;)

might as well check/bleed slave and master cylinder while there

Rear main seal ???? You dont have to pull motor for that.. You just remove flywheel and use a seal puller ( link below ) to pull it out . Then hammer a new one in making sure you go in straight.

http://www.harborfre...ller-35556.html

Thanks for beating me to it LTP

AKA...... Lurker TP

v

Rear main seal ???? You dont have to pull motor for that.. You just remove flywheel and use a seal puller ( link below ) to pull it out . Then hammer a new one in making sure you go in straight.

http://www.harborfre...ller-35556.html

Thanks for beating me to it LTP

AKA...... Lurker TP

:lol: ^^^ ,,,, :D

anytime ,,, bannanapeel !

Hahahahaha

Speaking of rear mains.

Jack the car up.

Remove battery cable

Remove starter