cracked engine block

I own a 82 king cab 4x4 720, yesterday I was told the engine block is cracked. I'm a college student and don't have time to fiddle with this thing anymore. The truck is in great shape, aside from the engine, typical rust on the wheel wells in the bed but the frame is solid. I absolutely loved this truck! What are my options? I'd hate to take it to the crusher so I'm seeing if anybody has any other idea's? Thanks guys!

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

....... who told you its cracked?

, whats hapening with the motor that makes you beleive its cracked?

What's being done to it that someone says it's cracked?

whats going on with the motor that makes you think it has a cracked block?

And the answer is......

I think cracks are over rated to begin with. Mechanics and engine builders have a vested interest in finding them to make more work and in order to guarantee their work. A crack is a relieved stress and that's the end of it. Many cracks that are found are perfectly fine running motors (in need of rebuilding, yes) but otherwise unaffected by any, andt have likely been there for years. If you look hard enough there are likely cracks on many to most old L/Z series locks driven daily. I have never once heard of an engine taken out of service that failed from an undiagnosed 'crack' that caused loss of coolant or oil, or had the head bolt pull out. In most cases the 'rod through the block' was from owners that failed to keep oil in their motors or continued to drive without oil or when over heated. The rest would have been motors that were just 'worn out' and seriously in need of new bearings or a re-build, or abuse.