transmission and towing

A friend and I got into an arguement. I have read on here that you have got to unhook a driveline to tow a vehicle on a car Dolly for a long period of time or you risk frying your tranny. He said that only applys to automatics... is he right? If not what's the science behind the whole fried transmission thing?

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

well i was a tow truck driver.....

you CAN F up a manual tranny if you tow it without disconnecting the driveline if you tow it over a long distance.

rule of thumb: if you have to take it more than 5 miles you need to disconnect the driveline or you will over heat the tranny.

but the same rule applies for auto trannys. some of them can just be dropped into neutral and towed for a short distance, but if you have to take it more than 3 miles you need to disconnect the driveline.

if i had to tow an auto tranny vehicle i would just grab it from the drive axle so i didnt have to disconnect anything.

As long as the drive shaft is turning, even in neutral, all gears are spinning and splashing oil around. In neutral there is no engine to turn so very little load on any one gear. I don't see why there would be a problem towing a standard with the driveshaft on. It would be the same as coasting down a mountain in neutral. A long mountain. I'm not saying you can... only that I don't see a problem.

Auto are different. They need the motor running to power the oil pump inside. I suppose you could tow an auto with the engine idling.

I have towed several datsuns, one across country, the most recent my 620 up from missoula to north idaho, all were manual trans and I have never had a problem. Auto's I always disconnect the driveline, and try to bungee it up to the frame somewhere so the atf won't spill out the tailshaft while it's on my dolly.........