Which 280zx rear setup

freekwonder

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

The later one should have the better brake calipers on it. One will look normal, and the other will look weird. Get the normal ones. The turbo will also have CV shafts, and the 80 will have regular u joints. But, it will almost all eb useless to you unless you have some fab skills. The only thing that you could simply bolt onto the 510 would be the R180.

Edited by yellowdatsun

I know the r200 will need some mustach work, medium fab skills isn't a problem. Between myself and my friend that is a welder/fabricator by profession.

As for the rear control arms, I was under the impression from other forums that they bolt right up but adds to much toe in, which isn't a problem because my rear crossmember has already be modified to let me change camber and toe.

I'm leaning towards the '82 setup.

It will fit, the r200 cv's go in but it is a tight fit and they will bind a little bit. This is if you swap in the control arms as well. I did that and had to flip them over. The arm are big and clunky though. I personally would stick with the r180 unless you plan on running crazy power. The r200 with the rear arms are just heavy. Unless you cut some metal out of the arms.

Thanks for the help guys.

Are there really any real disadvantage to the '80 rear brakes, I've got ZX struts up front and I don't plan to run crazy horse power (350 max) and that is still years down the road. I was going to grab the r200 rear end then he brought up the fact of the r180 rear end. I was thinking with the r180 rear end, and the ZX control arms I would have a chance to use my stock axles?