Project: 72 Green Wagon

This is the 72 Wagon I just got. A friend actually bought it, and then decided he didn't have the time or money to put into it. He cleaned it up, changed the fuel filter, put in a battery, etc.

The first thing I'm hoping to do is get it to the point that it's reliable enough to be my daily driver. I've also got a 521 that I've been working on for a while. After I get the wagon going good, I want to get the 521 on the road. Then I can switch back to the wagon without having to keep it drivable. Here's what I've done so far:

• Trouble shooting on electrical. Turn signals and brake lights didn't work.
  • Stole the weber carb from my 521 project to get this one running.
  • Switched to single point dizzy (plan to do electronic eventually).
  • New plugs, wires, points, etc.

Thats about it I guess. Any suggestions are welcome. I've had some older cars in the past including a 61 320, but I'm just learning about the 510. I guess I can use all the help I can get:D

These pictures aren't the greatest, but this is what it looks like at the moment. I'll add more as things progress.

IMG_4318a.jpg

IMG_4326.jpg

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

so yeah ^^^^ what that guy said :D I bet you can compound & buff out that paint & get a shine. Regarding the/signals not working it may be a bad contact @ the fuses. You can remove & soak the fuse block in lemon juice & or wire brush the brass contacts. You'll soon be getting lots of looks as you cruise it around:D

turn signals dont work?

make sure emergency Pull switch is still installed. Some people ripp them off and use in other cars.

Ck the blinker Cans under the dash. Shoul be 2 of them. one for the turn signals and one for the emergency switch.

brakes lites?

ck the fuses Or replace as they break inside at the end caps where you cant see it. If you dont have brake lites sometimes you wont have dash lights.