12v WHILE CRANKING source.

I'm at the end of my efi install. Holley sniper 2300 efi. Just wiring now. Everything else is done. I'm having a hard time locating a 12v cranking source. Instructions say 12v while cranking and run position.. need help. 69 datsun 510 2 door. Stock harness. I've tried every wire that comes out of the key ignition plug. None of them stay at 12v while cranking. They all jump down to 9 ish. Btw, instructions say not to connect to starter solenoid or ign coil.

Edited by 510revisited
  • Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

12 volts should only drop to maybe 11/11.5 while cranking and should work for what you are needing

how strong is your battery ?

try jumping and check cranking voltage or try installing another battery and see if it keeps closer to 12V 

im no expert so this is what i would try if it was mine 

The battery is going to drop less than 12 volts during cranking as the starter is draining it and the battery is in parrallel with all circuits so that’s the way it is. Adding a relay only triggers better if you have a low voltage drop across a key switch but during start the battery is draining with the starter motor so I don’t know if that really solves anything beside adding more crap under the hood.you have a hot start wire just find it it’s by the coil and ballast.The Haynes manual should have it page 181 if I remember right

I posted most info on you other thread but the specs says it works from 4 to 15 volts 

Edited by banzai510(hainz)
  • Like 2
9 hours ago, 510revisited said: