1977 datsun 620 long bed z24 swap

Ricky1981

Sup Ratsun people. I'm new to the page, and still trying to find out how it works lol. I have a 1977 620 long bed . I came across an 1986 d21 short bed I pet the motor and transmission on the 620 but the tranny is too short it measures 31 1/2 in. So my question Is there a longer transmission I can use or do I have to use my fabrication skills?

• Like 1
  • Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

The 620 auto or standard 71B transmissions after '73 are 31.5" long.

The D-21 Hardbody 71C transmission is slightly longer.

Maybe a few pictures would help? perhaps someone has previously swapped transmissions.

I put a Z24 into my 620 using a 31.5" 71B 5 speed and it fit perfectly.

• Like 1

You better post some pictures because something does not add up.

ALL 620s AFTER '73 USE 31.5" LONG 4 OR 5 SPEEDS.

D21 four and five speed 71C transmissions are not the same length as the 31.5" 71B transmissions..

You either don't have a D21 transmission or are measuring it incorrectly. Stand the transmission up on 2x4 blocks. Place a straight edge across the tailshaft. Measure out about 9 or 10" and then measure vertically down to the outer lip of the transmission front case where it bolts to the engine. You may be measuring on an angle and getting a longer slope distance.

• Like 1

The differences in wheelbase on the 620 is behind the cab and the transmission. It's all in the frame and front drive shaft lengths and has nothing to do with the transmission length.

A D-21 transmission is either too short or too long (I forget) but either way it is not 31.5".

• Like 1

If you are getting 31.5" then likely it is shorter. I wasn't sure if shorter or longer but definitely not the same.

You don't have to measure it again. Things make sense now. How much are we talking about an inch? two?

• Like 1