Need noob advice on buying this 620

shven

Hey guys,

So I'm brand new with Datsuns, I've never owned one or even thought about owning one until two days ago I randomly decided to search up "datsun" on Craigslist and I fell in love with this beauty. It's a 1975 620 and I'm definitely considering buying it. However, I know next to nothing about these trucks so I found this site and figured I'd get some help from you guys. It would be my first car so I think it would be pretty cool. I'm a student so I'd mainly be driving it to and from school (about 20km round trip). What are these things like on gas? This one has a 5 speed which I've heard improves fuel economy. Just to confirm, I don't own this truck (yet) I took the photos from the craigslist ad for reference.

Anyways, here's the truck!

ScreenShot2013-09-07at64916PM_zpsa6600c2

ScreenShot2013-09-07at64935PM_zps38c72b3

ScreenShot2013-09-07at64954PM_zps46f3d89

The description in the ad is as follows:

1.6l motor
Webber 32/36 downdraft carb
5speed swapped from 1981 280zx
Front disc brake swap from 1991 nissan hard body pickup
New alternator and battery
New radiator
Great body, no rust
Bfg radial t/a's 205/60 r14 @ 85% tread
Lots of spare parts!
Great commuter

I contacted the guy and he says the truck has only 45,000 miles on it and has no mechanical issues or rust. Asking $3150 (Canadian). One thing I noticed is that he says it's a 1.6l engine yet it's a 75 so should it not have the 2.0l L20B engine?

So basically if you guys have any general advice on whether or not this is a good buy and if so, what kind of offer I should give the guy that would be fantastic.

Thanks!

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

It should have an L20B with the U67 head. 

I don't think 5 speeds were available in 1975 for the 620. 

Take a magnet with you to look for rust. Rocker corners. Around the windscreen. Floors. Firewall/cowl area.