521Restore with L20B

About a 4 years ago my Datsun took a crap and I didn't want to deal with it. Just recently my cousin has been searching for an engine to swap out the old one and he found one. Well, it was a napz and I didn't want to modify anything so I said, what the hell and pulled the engine with the tranny my self to see what the problem was. BLOWN HEAD GASKET!

8c45e7b1-3eb8-4a41-9e89-201951cbdf62_zps

I've never done something like this before and my wife getting pissed cause I wont stop working on it now. I'm hooked! Anyway, the engine needed some serious cleaning along with tranny. So I got some degreaser and a power washer and went to work.  

photo4_zps22b26d1b.jpg

this was after I was done.

photo3_zpsb937c0c2.jpg

OK, here's the problem ,maybe (if anyone knows different)

a74a5218-b94a-4e20-825f-7ec3479670d3_zps

The little port hole or what ever it is (its not the speedometer hole or reverse light) has a plastic fitting, doesn't look threaded was leaking tranny fluid when I flipped it to wash the tranny. now it was only leaking when I was putting it in gears flipped over. was wondering if maybe I broke something off or its like a pressure relief hole? Any help would be awesome and I didn't search to hard for an existing thread on the subject so I don't want to hear any bull! Thanks ratsun homies.  

Here's a shot of truck with bed off

photo2_zps5f3f8182.jpg

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

tumblr_m93533eyFU1qlfzwoo1_500.gif

Oh my fucking lord... a single post user that isnt trying to buy something, and made an introduction. New favorite member for sure. 

Welcome to the site. Glad to hear you caught the 'itus and are now addicted to working on the truck. We love pictures here, so you made a first great post. Would love to see some full shots of the truck if you have them.