510 new comer

Well, at the suggustions of a local i am supposed to start a "build" thread. It wont be a build as much as a make it work. There's a leaking fuel tank, it melts the coil for some weird reason, and it needs a lot of tlc to many other things.So, my name is Nate, ive been a datsun lover since i was young ang i finally got one. Im not a mechanic by any means, but i didnt think that was a reason for not getting one. So, i bought a 1972 datsun 510 2-door. I doesnt run, there's some rust, but not too bad. The way it sits is the way i got it (besides the paint). All im gana do is try and make it run, then drive the hell out of it.

towing it home...

myd_zps0a51fff0.jpg

i will get more soon, this is just a start

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Decent score there Nate.  I wasn't much of a mechanic when I got my Datsun (hell, I still ain't), but there is a wealth of information and a bit of smartassery, or is that the other way around, on this site along with folks that are willing to share their knowledge.  Welcome aboard.

edit: oh yeah, I'd drive the hell out of that ride too

I promised more pics so here are a few of it so far. Im waiting for a fuel filler neck in the mail. the old one was all rotted out. i welded up the fuel tank so it's working again.

I had to make the car all one color. I couldn't stand the multi color job on it. right before that i welded up all the trim holes in it and some other really bad spots on the rocker. there's more body work to be done but that will have to come in time. that was another purpose of the bombcan. easy touch up

datsun0068_zps995f2a94.jpg

It came with fiber glass fenders already on it. They were loose because the bolts were only half in and rusted in place so i have still have some tapping to do to get them all the way on

datsun0067_zps0a1bb022.jpg