74 620 "La Pedorra"

paisa13

Friend of mine gave me this truck about 5 years ago! loved the style of the truck but since it didnt run i had been sitting in my back yard used as a yard waste dumpster until last year! Someone knocked on my door asked me for the truck but i couldnt find the title! Few months later the title appeared and the itch to work one the truck began!

IMG_1461.jpg?t=1296093775

This is what i looks like right now!! Dont have any pictures of how it looked before!!
Truck had the L18 but could never get the thing to start! I started by swapping the hitachi carb for a new weber 32/36 and a brand new points distributor! I should of done my research and bought a "matchbox dizzy" but im new to datsuns!
3.jpg?t=1296096860Intalled new plugs, wires, coil, distributor and carb and the Truck fired up right away even after sitting for four years!

The first drive was an experience to remember!!! All exited about getting it to fire up and eager to take it for a drive i didnt even think about the breaks!!! I took off and sped up as much as i could! With a cloud of black smoke behind me i wouldnt be hard for someone to miss me!! When it came time to stop, well i couldnt!!! The pedal went to the floor and only the the front rights felt like it was grabbing! I ran the stop sign, luckly no one was at the intersection! Downshifted to slow down and turned back around to my house!!

After some research i order Beebani brackets and did the disc break swap along with some new titan wheels!!!
IMG_0758.jpg?t=1296097487

I fell in love with the truck and its potential of how i want to get it!! The L18 was dying on me, burning a lot of oil and just not very reliable!!
I bought an L20 from a guy and decided to refreshen it up!! intalled new bearings, rigs etc...

photo1.jpg?t=1296098084photo3.jpg?t=1296098145photo4.jpg?t=1296098185Had to go with my Raider colors!! All about the Silver and Black!!

Here are some pics of the old L18 coming out!!