Last Old Norwegian 521

Conan

Thought i might as well start a build thread as i recently purchased a 1969 Datsun 521. Since i live in Norway parts are hard to come by, and need to be ordered from over seas, as well as the price of everything is probably tripled if not more. But what is the most difficult is that i´m the only one that has one that i know of, there may be a few more lying around, but i know for sure I have the only one in my region. I paid slightly less than the equivalent of 2000$ for it, but part are expensive, and since its not really working its now consuming all my time.

This is my first project ever, and first Datsun ever. Prior to this i have pretty much only worked on mopeds and dirt bikes. But i love learning by doing and i am hoping with the help of you guys, i will have a that people can admire while i pass them by, and not when they pass me by while I´m at the side of the road with a dead engine.

At the moment my main problem is the Alternator (made a thread about it, but to avoided making a bunch of threads everytime something goes wrong i thought i might as well just make a built thread) the only alternator i could get was a Mitsubishi 50amp from a Mazda, but i have no clue how to wire it. At first i had wired it similar to how it the old one was, but its different, as well as i think the last owner tried to scam me by running the wiring directly to the battery without passing the Volt Reg. since the gauges don´t work as well as the IGN light never lit up except if i unplugged the Alt.

Main diffrence between old and new is that the new one has 2 wires that go into a 4pin plug, and from there 2 wires that goto a T-plug, i guess my problem is what do i plug into the T-Plug?

DSC_1769.jpg

Enough about my whats wrong, here are some pictures of whats right:

o00zmr.jpg

DSC_1764.jpg

2dihxc0.jpg

• Like 2
  • Replies 136
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic