The Real MVP (Minimum Viable Product)

1001001SOS

Hello, new member and I wanted to start a thread to track my build, so here I go! 

My name is Jay, and here is my new truck:

hOahmjW.jpg

I love it to death, although it is very much a bucket. In the late 90's I bought a "former show truck" (lol) 1982 king cab as my first car in HS. It was primer black and dropped and a total bucket also, so here I am living the dream once again.

After the first wash:

rS4Ks06.jpg

I paid a grand for it, which you'd think is a crazy deal, until...

ZuW8gPD.jpg

Oh she's got it bad. This is my first project of any type to have rust issues so I am sure I'm in for a treat. This is also my first 720 since the Piece Ride (as my old friends called it), but I have worked on a lot of 90's Nissans so I feel really comfortable on a lot, so there's that. I checked what are apparently the "usual spots" and found more rust. Passenger floorboard is the worst, but the driver side is probably going to need something, and the battery area is toast. You can see the tail light bezels (frames?) are gone also:

6QlTF1Z.jpg

DHKQJiK.jpg

2G5evEf.jpg

Here is a great shot of all the garbage I got for free, and the awesome tan bucket seats (more on that in part 2):

zt1xcH4.jpg

• Like 2
  • Replies 45
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

So the first order of business is obviously to take it for a spin, right? Well, it wanted to run on starter fluid when I checked it out, but under the hood was in rough shape. Thankfully it doesnt look like the P.O. did much to it aside from the buckets and drop. He said he drove it for a year as it stood, then had carb issues and parked it for a year. He tried to get it running with this ebay carb and had no luck. I got it as it looks here:

BnBZYOQ.jpg