Lucy the 240Z

This car is proof that good customer service goes a long way.

I've worked at Autozone for 4 years now... all 4 of those years, I've had a customer in and out with his 240z. We talked quite a bit, got to know each other. He had a few issues in the last year with the car. Float stuck on the front SU, piston stuck in the same car, small stuff here and there. Every time he had an issue, I was able to either fix it for him, or walk him through fixing it himself. He was stoked. All around good car though. Solid as any car should be. I had been bugging him to sell it to me for the last 2 years, told him if he ever wanted to sell it that he should let me know first and I'll take good care of it. Hadn't seen him in a few months after the last time I offered to buy the car... he walked in last Friday and smiled big, pointed to a brand new Dodge Ram he bought. Apparently blew a head gasket in the 240Z. I offered to help him fix it, and he smiled and his words I won't forget... "You wanna buy it?" I smiled and couldn't fucking hide it. $1200 and it's mine. I instantly started making phone calls trying to find a way to pick it up. Worked out a deal that involves selling my truck back to the engine builder, but only after we put a good motor in it so I have another DD. 

Heres where it gets good. 

-The car's a 1970. Early production, rocking the early/rare valve cover,and all the early goodies.
-It's got A/C. Just needs a good compressor.
-It's car #2563. Probably on one of the very first boats over from Japan. Over 17000 produced in 1970 alone.
-The body is SOLID and there is no rust anywhere! No dents, no scratches, just needs a buff wax.
-The interior could be immaculate with a cleaning. Perfect seats with no apparent signs of wear (needs more inspection) all the trim, carpet, door panels, etc. The dash is 100% crack free and appears to be original
-It appears to at one time possibly had cruise control. But more on that later.