620 operation santa speed

TheArtist

i'm brand new to this form but not new to the modding word. here is my story, my future father in law has been looking for a 620 for over a year now and i came upon one with a super strait body (only thing i care about). i took the dive and bought it for 1000. it runs, lowered, 5 speed, good interior and the body is strait. 

my plans for this truck are to swap in a KA, the L20 is bad plus more power is never a bad thing. interior is good so ill be leaving that alone, paint will be updated and surface rust will eliminated. 

not that big of a deal to only do two things but i need to have this done before christmas so i can surprise him with his new truck. so within 3 weeks i will have a full engine swap and a new paint job.

i will probably need troubleshooting help along with suggestion are always welcome. i typically never talk about or document my projects but i feel like he would enjoy looking at this once its done to see the process and transformation that has happened.

a6522dc8-16e5-4b34-8f10-a3f7558bdedb.jpg

76d5f30a-b1e8-4082-94f7-d3721d641284.jpg

• Like 1
  • Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Noticed your in California.  Make sure you do the swap proper with paperwork and what not threw DMV since this is not a pre-smog truck.  Nothing worse than getting it all done to not be able to drive in the streets due to smog.  

Otherwise WELCOME!  I remember this for sale on CL a little back.  Looks like a great truck.  Someone on here makes KA mounts for the 620, unless you have the time to fab some up.  Lots of great information to be had just reading some swaps.  

Will be watching your build.  BTW what are you going to do with the engine and trans??