69 Datsun 510 Street/Track Build

jputz

Hello Ratsun

Since this is my first post I hope that I am putting it in the right spot.

I just purchased a 1969 Datsun 510 that is a 95% complete car. It is in a little rough shape but its something that I could afford, and being on the east coast, where they are harder and harder to find, I thought it was a steal. I will find out for sure tomorrow, when I complete the 905 mile drive to pick it up (yeah thats one way). As any of the other GA ratsun members can tell you they are few and far between over here. Hopefully this trip will be uneventful and I will be able to add some pics here on Sunday/Monday when I get back.

I would like to build a nice DD that will see a little track time so here is my order of operations so to say.

1) I am going to start with body and suspension work first. I am a Ford Chassis Master Tech so this should pose to big of a problem.

2) Electrical. I will probably have a few questions when it comes to this one, but if I can figure these new systems out I dont think that a 40 year old system will be to complicated.

3) Engine and drivetrain. I have been lurking arround here for a few weeks now and reading up on all the swaps that have been done and I am leaning towards the KA24DE swap. I am looking for 200+whp and I think that this is going to be the best engine for reliability and power numbers that I am looking for.

This project should be a lot of fun and with the slow time at work coming up should keep me busy this winter. Cant wait to get the car home and start on it, I have be chomping at the bit all week waiting for the weekend so I can go get. I know you all will be a great help and cant wait to help someone else out. Thanks ahead of time for all the help.

Josh

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic