For the Haterz

Smiley720

• Replies 169
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Layed, I understand that. There were a few guys who thought I was comitting suicide by putting a reverse 4-link on my 720, I was just showing that some big name shops do the same thing sometimes. Like I said, it doesn't make it right or wrong but it does show that there is more than one way to skin a cat

I know it doesn't make it right, but if the Thorbecke's have it on their own trucks then I will trust it on mine.

reverse2.jpg

reverse.jpg

I'm not an expert on four links, but isn't the setup in the pictures pretty conventional? It has 2 lower links coming from the front, and a "Y" shaped link on top coming from the front. The arms on the bags have shackles that just transmit up down travel. Maybe I'm seeing it wrong.

That's actually not a reverse, it's a half and half (2 to the rear and basically 2 to the front). They work ok, the problem is, your pinion angle changes dramatically as you raise and lower it (not a good thing). The only real reason to do one, is if you don't want to relocate the fuel tank. 4 to the front is a better plan, but more work.

The setup on this truck is actually a 2 from rear and a y from the front. The bags are mounted behind the rearend

That setup is actually considered a 6-link. I think you just aren't seeing the 2 lower forward links. They run directly under the frame rails in front of the rearend. They are chrome so they are hard to see. The rear links that the airbags are on only serve the purpose of lifting the truck without controling the placement of the rearend. You can see shackles where the rear links meet the brackets on the rearend.

If you look closely in the second picture, I think there are actually 2 lower links coming from the front (they are chrome). I think the arms with the bags only provide lift.