521 advice

kcmwalker

Hello everyone,

I have a '71 521 that I've been working on for a couple months now. It's been well used, but there is no significant rust anywhere. Amazing for a truck that's been in South Carolina for more than 50 years. When I got it, it was stuck in reverse, a little smokey, and was having fuel delivery issues. Since then, I've gotten the transmission sorted and replaced the battery. The battery is getting juice from the alternator, but the starter only clicks when I turn the key. It will start on a jump. I'm thinking the hot start mod is the solution here and I've got relays on the way so I can do the work later this week. I am more perplexed over the issues with the fuel system. After getting it running, the truck died while driving. I replaced the fuel pump and that fixed it, but then I drove to the gas station to fill up the tank. As I was pumping gas into the tank I hear a splash and look down and I've got fuel all over the ground. The rubber line from the gas tank out feed slipped off of the breather tube and emptied everything in the line onto the ground. I put the hose back on and have checked for kinks, but I'm still not seeing any fuel at the carburetor. My best guess is that I've got a blockage and I should probably clean out the gas tank and replace some of the lines. Anyone else have any thoughts about this or any other advice going forward. Thanks!

• Like 1
  • Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

How did you jumper the truck to get started??? If just cables to the battery clamps gets it to work then not needing a hot start relay. If jumping 12v from the starter to the solenoid makes it work than yes the start signal is weak. You can confirm by testing the voltage in the wire to the solenoid in the start position on the key.