Lachlan's 1972 Datsun 1200 Sedan

Lachlan

I recently purchased a barn stored 1972 Datsun 1200 sedan off a farm here in Australia. Here are some photos before I start making any changes.

Keep in mind I'm very new to these cars, so I may get a few things wrong.

Exterior

There are minor dents on the left hand side and rear. Rust is minimal from what I can access.

IMG_2328%20-%20Copy.JPG?raw=1

A few dents particularly in the doors. Nothing too significant.

IMG_2326%20-%20Copy.JPG?dl=1

Left hand side tail lights bezel is cracked and missing from a previous impact. Rear bumper looks to be a bit out of shape too.

IMG_2335%20-%20Copy.JPG?dl=1

Interior

The front seats were replaced by the previous owner. I will be sourcing original seats as these ones have you sitting very high and touching the headlining.

IMG_2409%20-%20Copy.JPG?dl=1

11970 miles. Not sure how many times it's been around the clock.

IMG_2343%20-%20Copy.JPG?dl=1

3 speed automatic. I'll get it running and see how it drives around town. I hear 5 speed manual conversions are popular with these models.

IMG_2342%20-%20Copy.JPG?dl=1

Original back seats. The support is non-existent and might need reupholstering.

IMG_2411%20-%20Copy.JPG?dl=1

The old fuel will be drained and the tank cleaned before filling with fresh fuel and stabiliser.

IMG_2351%20-%20Copy.JPG?dl=1

Engine

Complete and original from what I can see. The engine turns over and starts, but won't stay running. It could be as simple as bad fuel and me not realising these cars had a manual choke.

IMG_2365%20-%20Copy.JPG?dl=1

Single carburetor setup.

IMG_2370%20-%20Copy.JPG?dl=1

Underneath

The exhaust system needs some attention.

IMG_2390%20-%20Copy.JPG?dl=1

That doesn't quite look right.

IMG_2406%20-%20Copy.JPG?dl=1

I think my dog likes it.

IMG_2419%20-%20Copy.JPG?dl=1

More to come.

Lachlan

Edited by Lachlan
  • Like 3
  • Replies 111
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic