CV shafts in the works

Icehouse

Well I've been dreaming of CV shafts for a few years. After talking to a few different datto dudes I have a idea or 2. I decided to go with a r180, I have heard such good things about the r160 I can't imagine the 180 with a LSD being a problem. Me and bleach discovered that the zx hub splines are the same. So in theory you all the ingredients are there. The R180 I got is out of a... yep s12 :D The s12 is a few inches wider so I'm hoping that the axles won't be to much of a problem. I took apart a few extra's I had today just for fun :D here are the pics.

P1010017.JPG

The R180 with half a DL and the axles.

P1010020.JPG

The shorter one is out of a 80 720 4x4 with the L20 ( I know I would have got the tranny but judging from the transfer case and diff it wasn't in to good of shape)

P1010021.JPG

The 4x4 one is slightly shorter but the spines are bigger... I will mark it and save it for later research :D

P1010019.JPG

I can't forget these beauties, I bought them from Byron :D If they are everything he says I'm go to be very happy!!

P.S. Thank you Tangent for the camera, it works great :D

• Replies 108
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I should have a better idea as the week progresses :D I should have the arms on the crossmember and hopefully bolt everything up to see what I need :D I think the only problem will be the axle length, I wonder if the r200 axle will work..... I think if I take it apart I can swap the shorter axle onto the r180 deal :)

Not only is it a First place winer its a great to have on the team :D

P1010024.JPG

P1010023.JPG

P1010031.JPG

z31 compared to the shortest zx shaft.

P1010032.JPG

Kevin texting while I'm doing all the work :D

You know it buddy :D Most of the parts you see in the picture are for "test fitting" I am suposed to be getting some arms with disk brakes and now I need one more short cv from a zx turbo or 2+2