Rear end suggestions needed....70' 521

What?It runs...

Alright, so I've begun some work on a 1970 pickup I had in high school. I have recently picked up a nicely built L20 and would like to change out the rear end and perhaps the brakes. Which rear end should I use that may also provide some independant suspension? I'm relatively new to the world of japanese cars and will welcome any suggestions. Thanks for your time...

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome !

Any IRS will work ...

People who know..... just do ;)

If you don't have an un-disturbed workplace to set the truck from start to finish ... It's going to be more difficult than it already is.

I can see a cool $850-$1,000 being dropped right off the bat if you want NEW performance coilovers in general with IRS. Thinking specifcally Qa-1 coilovers. Than again other coilover setups could be cheaper !

Add more money for exhaust re-routing and more un-expected costs.

Add more for driveline shortening or custom driveline.

THEN... You choose whether to shorten cv joints and making custom a-arms ... More money.

Bushings ...

Metal needed ...

To re-drill or to not re-drill ?

E-brake ...

Brake re-routing...

Etc

Etc

Or

You'll be swapping out lug patterns to ... 2 spare tires.

Hopefully you won't end up disc rear and drum front.

Infiniti Q45

350z or G35 ?

240sx IRS

30Ozx IRS

510 IRS

280zx IRS

Lincoln mark viii IRS

Ford Mustang Cobra IRS

Cougar xr7 IRS

Thunderbird 5.0 IRS

Etc ?

^ track width issues on many of those.

Just as many don't have LSD.

Which is a big re-sale issue.

etc.

Soon youll have more into the rear suspension than the whole truck including the engine.

Unless you're a sly guy with money and parts slinging.

Not to mention down time or cost versus fun ratio and possible a heavier setup than the original ...

You could also Keep it the way it is and enjoy :)

Or