Looking to correct a few things with the 521

My name Is Anthony I have a 1971 521 Datsun pick up with an L16 everything is pretty much stock except the carb it came with a 32/36 DGEV Weber carb. I tried rebuilding the carb but I had a lot of issues with the choke so I just saved up and bought a new Weber I installed the Weber and it fired right up I have been learning about tuning and attempting to get it to that sweet spot. I noticed it pops a bit if you hit the high rpms just right. I assume it’s running rich just cause the popping happens often. I also believe the timing is off, when I shut the motor down it still fires a bit here and there yesterday I drove it into town where I work and I went somewhere on my lunch turned off the truck and she fired 8 times so I turn the key back over and it fired up I shut it down and it completely shut down like it should have. I am still new to working on the truck and am just trying to soak up as much knowledge as I can that being said any advice is very much appreciated I can take photos, videos and try to provide better info. 
thanks in advance

• Like 1
  • Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I would start with a check of the points gap. Set to 0.020"-0.022" Then check or set the ignition timing. Off hand I don't know what the L16 ignition timing on a '71 is but find out and set it. 

Next set the valve lash. 0.008" intake and 0.010" exhaust on a cold engine or preferably, 0.010" intake and 0.012" exhaust on a hot engine. An overly tight valve can cause the high RPM 'popping' you mention.

Carburetor set up

http://www.redlineweber.com/html/Tech/carburetor_set_up_and_lean_best_.htm

http://www.redlineweber.com/html/Tech/34_ICT_tunning.htm

Run on or dieseling is the firing of the engine even without the ignition spark. Just like a diesel it's the heat of compression that sets off the gasoline.

Some causes

An overly hot engine.