Another UK Newbie :)

JK510

Hi all,

I'm in the process of importing a 1972 510 4 door from South Africa to the UK, so hopefully I'll be able to pick up tips and advice from here as I go. I'm new to 510 ownership but not Datsun as I had a 1974 260Z for 10 years until a couple of years ago...

The car looks pretty good as it is, I've attached a picture below, but I do have some plans to make it look and drive much better. 

I plan to start steadily, maybe just lower it a little with coilovers (recomendations and suggestions welcomed) and upgrade the wheels.

I really like the look of the Atara Racing Pisang 15" wheel, probably staggered 8J front 9J rear with wheel arch extensions (fender flares) although I might just stick to 8j all round and a front airdam are first on the list. And I'd like to replace the current wing mirrors with some of the JDM style chrome mirrors, who's the best supplier? As I've said I'm in the UK so I guess I will need to source most parts from the states which has shipping and duty implications making things expensive, but I think finding most parts over here will be tricky.

Then I plan to look at engine and drivetrain with a 5 speed gearbox upgrade, it seems the 280ZX box is a common replacement, but does the S14a box fit too, I fitted one to my S30 and it was a transformation, I loved it, so if it's possible I'd like to fit one to the 510. But if not recomendations again are very welcome.

Looking forward to the car very much, it's first big outing will be to the Le Mans Classic in July so I hope to have is at least reliable by then 

All tips, hints and advice readily welcomed..!!

Cheers,

JK

49530553467_198c79ebb5_h.jpg

49529825173_d4a3147b2b_b.jpg

Edited by JK510
fixing images
  • Like 3
  • Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

be honest I would just get some wheels that tuck up under the wheelwells better and just lower it and leave it alone.