suspension/chassis upgrade questions..

charlie6178

so i have my car all apart right now, and i am trying to have the car back on the road by christmas. but i have never built a datsun, to be honest i have never built anything that wasn't a chevrolet. so i am new to this whole datsun thing. but i want the car to be as sound as it can be without throwing mega $$$ at it. so while the motor is being rebuilt i am going to go ahead and finish the suspension up, but i have some questions.

okay, so i have a set of ground controll coil conversion deals, and i was just wondering; #1 whats the easyiest way to get the strut apart to weld on after i pull the spring and all that business off? #2 after i soda blast the whole thing, and weld the collar in place that the coil over sleve rest on, do i need to replace anything before re-assembling the strut?? seals?? fluid?? and finally any general things to watch out for when doing this??

TC rods; has anybody used the Techno Toy Tuning TC rods? i have a spare set of stock TC's and i am plainning on making a set of adjustable ones, just copying the Techo Toys Tuning set, and i was just wondering if these were really going to make that much of a difference.

sway bars; has anybody, or is anybody on here used or using the suspension techniques sway bar kit? they offer a kit that includes the 1" front & 3/4" rear sway bars, and all of the mounting hardware, and bushings for $310 which seems pretty reasonable to me. i have one of their kits on my 71 nova and i was very pleased with the quality of the products.

chassis stiffening; does anybody on here know how much room there is for improvement on the structure of the body of these cars? i was thinking about making some sort of subframe connector setup like they use on camaro's and what not to tie all the the body together a lil tighter. i dont want to put a roll bar in it if i dont have to. i just want to do the thing right while i have it all apart.

• Replies 25
  • Created