Su vs Weber vs Mikuni???

So i've been doing some searching but dont feel i've found all the info there is to find. And i dont feel i've had the three put up against one another.

I've saved up some money to get a set of dual side draft carbs for l20

just dont know if i want to go with 38mm SUs, weber dcoe 40mm or Dual Solex / Mikuni 40mm.

I feel like i should be 100% on the pros and cons of each of these set ups before i go spending this kind of money.

Any info some of you professionals out there are willing to share would be greatly appreciated

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

What are you putting 'em on, and what's your goal? I'm no pro, but see this routinely asked/discussed. For everyday driveability and best mpg, 38mm SU's. Webers and Solex/Mikuni will make more top end by sacrificing low-end, and take a lot more to dial in. FWIW, I'm sticking with SU's.

The dual 40mm Mikunis hog a lot of gas. And, like it has been mentioned, it depends on what your normal/typical driving style is going to be. Not a situation where you *might* go out for a race or two, or *might* be out to show a couple of Hondas what you've got under the hood. If you are a typical city driver, with occasional highway use, I would go with the SUs. They are what the Datsuns had for the first step in performance. If you don't care about gas mileage, then the Weber would be the next choice, and if its going to be raced, go for the dual 40mm Mikunis

• Like 1