B110 steering swap

So im thinking about upgrading the steering on my pickup and since i cant find much on it i was wondering 

Has anyone ever used a center pivot steering? And what effects may it have on driving feedback?

Something like this:

JPEG_20190822_091824__10954_1_10954.jpg

Ive read that ideally it would be better to use one steering with the same pivot width as the stock steering rod so it doesnt change cornering characteristics.

But i have a couple like this laying around and i was wondering if anyone has ever done it and what results it had before i try to do anything.

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I have to ask what are you hoping to gain? Steering feel? Quicker ratio?

I've been racing my 1200 for 33 years and I've never found the need for quicker steering. 

As for feel the feedback on the stock box is really good (note I also drive a single seat formula car as well as various Porsches). Many cars have better feedback. Miata is most notable as well as Porsche Cayman but you couldn't live on the difference given the amount of work involved. 

• Like 1

I like to mod if there is a clear advantage or upgrade. Course I have done one or two that I learned after were basically a waste of time. There are some, like swapping IRS to replace leaf spring but it's more a technical exercise than a clear advantage. At the least trading one set of disadvantages for another. Then there is the not being able to find a replacement part and making something else work. Don't imagine there are too many 1200 steering boxes out there just like the 510, many of the internal parts, specially the bearings are NLA to rebuild.

This is the part where my experience may not help. My car has the original 50 year old steering box in it. It's never been apart and it still functions fine.