A14 fun factor

sick620

I am not new to driving datsuns with l series engines, but I am new to A series engines. Just picked up a 78 b210 with an A14. It was last registered in 88 so its going to be a minute before I get it going down the road. I was going to take it apart and do a budget rebuild new gaskets and rings etc, but before I do I'm wondering if these cars can be any fun with the original powerplant. I used to have all kinds of fun in my stock l20b datsun 620's with a weber and not much else done to them, they were not fast but I still was able to goof around in them and have a good time. A series motors have a lot less torque and HP, but these 210 chassis cars are a lot lighter right? after a quick rebuild and weber and maybe headers and exhaust will I have fun in one of these cars with an A series? or are they so god awfully underpowered that there is no way to have any fun and I should just go straight into looking for a l20b. nap z, KA etc?... I just want a fun Datsun I can cruise on the weekends and goof off in a little, I don't care at all about speed, just fun.   

I guess what im saying is:

does stock l series car = stock A series car for fun factor?

what are the best bang for buck mods to do to an A series engine to get a horsepower or two when you already have it taken apart doing a basic rebuild? 

Edited by sick620
  • Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

If you're willing to redefine what constitutes fun, you'll have a blast. My girlfriend in high school had a B210 and let me tell you, the thing was gutless, but holy christ did we have fun doing it in that Datsun! 

Along with a bigger carb and exhaust header, you may get a few ponies out of milling a bit off the head to raze compression and run it on premium. 

Edited by paradime
  • Haha 1
6 minutes ago, paradime said: