New 620 guy with KA24 swap

Mario73

So I'm new to datsun and the forums. Picked up A 73 620 already with a KA24 swapped BUT is very hard to keep the car on specially when cold. It will crank no problem but it will just sputter off. After trying and trying for while (30 mins) it will stay on and will smooth out once warm. Any help will be appreciated before I start chasing the problem. Thanks 🤙🏾

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

1 hour ago, datzenmike said:

Welcome.

Does this have the EFI or was it 'converted' to carburetor?

Don't be shy posting pictures.

Thanks, it's fuel injected and there's a few mods ill be posting pics. I just brought the truck home today so haven't really poked at it.

https://linksharing.samsungcloud.com/guuNOc6pfQVa 

Here are some pictures of what I'm dealing with. Hope you guys can see it I was having a hard time uploading pictures. I'm wondering if whoever built this out in the SF bay area is on here? Truck seems to have some good bones hopefully I can get it running soon.

200?signature=50O9FPBlQBsDDWwn_Uvo03c5Ji

DE from an S13/14

200?signature=HlUva1_5MqwFqNNJhFyoPsFzHm

Maybe someone knows but normally the valve cover vent does not go to a filter like this. Isn't it connected to the air pipe between throttler body and the MAF???

Poor cold idle.... maybe look at the AIC idle air control valve.

definitely check for codes.

You have an obd1 ma24de, it is fairly  simple. 

Turn the ignition on and turn the screw on the ecu to the right and count the flashes.

you can google for the full procedure and code list.

Mike has a good suggestion as well. The idle air control system is what acts as the ‘choke’ as part of its function