New Guy! 1969 Datsun 521

brettbyrd

Hey guys, names Brett, new here.

I literally (as of about 3 hours ago) just purchased my new truck here in Portland, OR.

1969 Datsun 521 pickup in pretty decent shape aside from a little front end damage.

Im pretty new to truck ownership and not too mechanically inclined (yet!) but i wanna turn this truck into my baby daily driver.

Had a few questions:

• Are body pieces hard to find for this truck? I'd need a new driver side front fender and possibly a new hood.

• As I was driving it home the clutch pedal went entirely to the floor and wouldn't let up again, I had to manually pull it back into place and now theres no life in it whatsoever. Thankfully it happened on my street or else I'd have to get it towed. Any idea what could cause this and how to go about fixing it?

• Is there any way to install a cigarette lighter in these trucks? I don't smoke but I do enjoy the luxury of being able to charge my phone while driving.

I'll post pictures as soon as I learn how, again I'm new to this whole thing!

Looking forward to being a part of this community, been wanting a Datsun for a very long time and I'm super stoked to be able to finally say I own one.

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome!  Most 521's I've seen have a cigarette lighter stock, so you should be able to find one no problem.  Body panels are whatever you can find used.  I have seen maybe one part brand new and that was a valance, but it's all NLA (no longer available) from nissan.  Check your clutch fluid level at the master and then check the slave to see if the piston popped out...

Nice truck Brett. Defiantly am digging the rims in black. Clean inside and out. There are a lot of parts available at rockauto.com. Welcome to the house!!

Welcome to Ratsun   B)

I was talking to a guy today about your truck, he was going to call about it, but you bought it, congrats.  :rolleyes: