New and Confussed - L16/L18 motor mounts

mantas

Hi guys, i hope someone can shed some light on this subject. I picked up my first 73' 620 today and I'm getting an engine from a 521 on Sunday but it has an L18 with and L16 head. The guy offered to show that it runs etc, but what engine mounts do i need, he said one of them is busted, and i don't even know where to start looking for one. By the way i'm new to datsuns and this forum and google didn't bring anything up so please don't bash and just guide me, thanks in advance.

On the other hand, will an l18 even work in a 620? I mean will the crossmemeber line up and will the oil pan clear?

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

The motor mounts are the same. If you already have them in the truck, then you don't need another set. Motor will just drop in.

Appreciat the responce but the problem is one of them is busted and i would rather buy some new mounts. Autozone has them for a 71' 521 and i'm wondering if that will work. I guess at $18 a pop its not a big loss if they don't workout. I already have a 5 speed from an l16 in there, do the transmissions all bolt up too?

I'm a little confused. The mounts in your 620 are broken? Or the mounts on the engine you're getting are broken?

The engine is drop in. L16/18 is basically the same in every way.

My 620 has no mounts at all, and the new engine comes with mounts but the seller said one of them needs to be replaced.

as far as I know motor mounts will work. Tranny will bolt on. Keep your current flywheel/ clutch. You will probably need to swap your oil pan onto the new motor. 620 mounts are a tad different, read: taller, but not by a ton.

I guess i might be on a hunt for an oil pan too, i had a feeling that could become a problem but i haven't seen the engine and the 521 engine bay to make that judgement yet.