Rebuilding L20B

73DATSON

I'm new at this. I'm just buying the parts and I have a shop doing the work. But I just what some insight from u guys. I'm about to buy a new head U67 with a bigass cam,new lifters, springs. Port&polish. And I just order flattop piston from a 280zx(86mm). So what u think? I'm looking for a good street racer!!

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

These are general definitions. This is for Datsun engines, and if I bought, what I would expect.

Short block. The engine block. Includes the block, crankshaft, pistons, and rings. These parts assembled together. You supply the head, front cover, oil pump, manifolds, camshaft, rockers, cam timing chain, oil pick up, oil pan, and other small stuff, and have to time the camshaft to the crankshaft.

Long block. Short block, plus head, attached. Probably includes timing chain, camshaft, rocker arms, front cover. May include an oil pump. Manifolds, oil pan, oil pick up not included.

If you are buying either partial assembly, ask what is included. Different suppliers may have different ideas on what exactly a short, or a long block is.

280xz piston are 86mm and that wuld be 1mm over bore in a l20 as l20s came with 85mm

I would NOT use flattops on a daily driver motor.whats the gas octane where you live?????? Flattops and open chamber is going to lead to detonation unless you got HIgh octane gas.

But its your car do with it what you want.

I would not get the biggest cam. Give some specs!!!!!!!!!!! Types of carbs you runinng ect....

oldddatsuns.com read it about 1000 times

from my very similar L20b rebuild thread coming to a final conclusion...

Yes, however....

Standard factory pistons range in size from 3.3459" to 3.3478"

Standard factory bores range in size from 3.3465" to 3.3484"