puttin on a header

pepboyspecial

Hey guys, i'm a noob with a '74 620 and slowly realizing this datsun stuff is just as, if not more addicting than small block chevy's and minibikes. I just a got a short tube header and a turbo muffler for the l18 that's in it, and i was wonderin what all can i shitcan? its smog exempt so i was thinking to make a block off plate for the EGR stuff to clean up the underhood, only thing is that the crank vent tube goes to the PCV valve which is in that mess on the side of the intake manifold. Can i just put a breather filter on that crank vent tube? Also there's a line that comes from the gas tank to EGR stuff, is it ok to put like a vacuum cap on that line or is that a deal for venting the tank? And last, and i gonna lose any power? I'm still new to all of this and the forums so these are probably redundant questions lol...

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

The 620 I have came with headers, 2" exhaust and a Flowmaster muffler. I was a bit too loud for me (especially when I drove it into the parking garage at work). I added a resonator (looks like a glass pack) in front of the muffler. That change removed the raspy-ness and reduced the 'drone' on the freeway. But maybe you want raspy. :)

It still sounds 'sporty' enough that I'll run it through the gears for an Auditory Fix. :)

There is also an exhaust thread in the Engine section of the forum...LINK

The factory manifold you have is better than ANY header.For a street driven truck,the header will cost you HP.Getting rid of the EGR will gain you nothing.You are Emissions TESTING exempt-NOT exempt from having the SMOG gear on the vehicle.Plenty of good mufflers out there,however,Flowbastards aren't one of them.

Plenty of good mufflers out there, however,Flowbastards aren't one of them.

Just curious... I didn't buy the Flowmaster, so no 'defensive feelings' here...