L16 oil pump - gasket?

revolt510

The timing gear on the oil pump of my L16 was installed so my timing is 180 out (basically #4 acts as #1 piston).

I like things to be right so I want to pull the pump and correct it. The only mention of a gasket I can find is the one internal to the pump if you disassemble it.

Is there a gasket between the pump and block I need to get?

thanks

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

So to get this running you moved # 4 to # 1 right??????? Well that what a SMART person would do. about 30 sec job . Done!!!!!!!!!

Who cares its working.!!!!!!!!

It will still be in the 11:28 position when its lined up to TDC. No body will know.

dont waist your time.

I'm an engineer by profession - my ego screams that its a half-ass job, so I can't rest until I put it right. :D

I dodnt get it . the timming plate and everything wont know the difference.

If you go to a L20 b Dist the rotor might point the otherway anyways compared to a L16 but the spindal will still be in the 11.28 position which is correct.

Thats why I say Line up to TDC then where the rotor locks down at that will be assigned the #1 plug position.

Felpro sells a front cover kit that has the oil pump gaskets in there. plus other gaskets. good to get this anyways.

O rileys carries these gasket kits. upperkit/lowerkit/ front cover kit

Actually, it could be that it's not your oil pump/dist spindle that's 180 out, it could be your camshaft. Just to drive the engineer in you nuts.

(note: That actually is the same thing. Changing one or the other will solve the problem, because it's those 2 that can get 180 from each other. The crank is in the same place irregardless)

I dodnt get it . the timming plate and everything wont know the difference.

If you go to a L20 b Dist the rotor might point the otherway anyways compared to a L16 but the spindal will still be in the 11.28 position which is correct.