fried alternator anyone?

so driving up to the airport doing 60 miles for about a good half hour after runnign it an aditional hour doing about 45 my charge light comes on and when i rev the piss out of it it goes away. i take it my alternator is fried?

ps. i made the whole 2 hour drive back home with it on as well. :S

:):):) pheew.

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm not a mechanic, I just play one on TV.

What I have gone through:

The first thing to look at is your alt belt tight and not slipping. I have had the slotted alt bracket crack a couple of different times and I couldn't see it looking at it from the top.

Next maybe, the diode is starting to get punched through or it is leaking charge, right? A diode allows current to flow only one way and they fail eventually, so on the charge side, the circuit doesn't see all the current. Only a little leaking current will turn the light on, and it will run like that for some time.

A couple of times I just went to the dealer or import parts place and bought the diode for eight or ten bucks. The problem was that, then the bearings would fail or the windings would fail. The diode was a signal that the alt was at the end of it's service life. All the hassle of R&Rn' you could have stuck a new one in.

For all the times this has happened to me I should remember how to trouble shoot this. With the engine at two and a half, three grand, a volt reading should get you fourteen plus volts at the battery terminals.

Couple years ago, I lost an alt after about 65K of service. I was down in California and paid $85 for one at an import place, I think Beck Arnley. Changed it in the parking lot. I was under the impression that it was new Hitachi, not a reman piece of junk.